A confession of judgment allows the property owner and/or taxpayer to pay off the delinquent tax amount due on a parcel of real property and is offered anytime after delinquent taxes are determined and prior to the expiration of the period of redemption or tax forfeiture. The total delinquent tax amount due on a parcel is combined into a single total sum. The property owner and/or taxpayer who choose this plan agree to pay the single total sum under either a 5-year or a 10-year installment plan (dependent on the classification of the property in which the judgment is being taken out). Yearly payment must be made and current year taxes must be paid or the confession of judgment will be cancelled. A Confession of Judgment is a substitute for the original tax judgment against the parcel of real property. It provides an alternative way of fulfilling the conditions of the original tax judgment. For purpose of clarity and convenience, the phrase, “delinquent tax amount,” is the total sum of the following amounts – Delinquent taxes, special assessments (if any), penalties, costs and interest.
Show All Answers
Property tax information is classified as public data under Minnesota Statute 13.02. The Auditor-Treasurer’s Office is responsible for calculating property taxes based on the levies of the taxing jurisdictions (cities, townships, schools, state of Minnesota, and other taxing authorities like the hospital district), collecting the property taxes, distributing funds to the appropriate taxing jurisdictions.
Contact the Auditor-Treasurer’s Office using one of the following methods:Phone at (320) 983-8304Fax at (320) 983-8336Mail to: Mille Lacs County Auditor-Treasurer’s Office, 635 2nd Street Southeast, Milaca, MN 56353.
Property taxes in Minnesota are a complex calculation using the valuation of your property, the classification of your property, a classification rate set by the Minnesota Legislature, and the local tax rate based on the levies of the taxing authorities (county, cities/townships, schools, state of Minnesota, and other authorities like the hospital district). The process can be best described through this fact sheet.
Property tax dollars are distributed to the county, school district, municipality or township, and other special taxing districts (such as the hospital district) in which your property is located.
Property taxes become classified as delinquent on January 1 the year after they were due (example: 2019 property taxes were not considered delinquent until January 1, 2020). Penalty does start to accrue on a monthly basis after the due dates though. Interest accrues on a monthly basis after the taxes become delinquent. If taxes are still owed on February 15 the property is placed on the delinquent tax list which is filed with the court Administrator. A letter is also mailed to the property owner notifying them of this formal action and notification of impending newspaper publication. Delinquent taxes are published in the newspaper twice. The first publication must occur on or before March 20th each year. The second publication must occur at least two weeks after the first publication and any taxpayers who have paid their delinquent taxes in full since the first publication are removed from the list. If taxes are still owed on the second Monday in May, a formal judgment is taken against the properties and they are also bid in for the state for forfeiture. In most cases, property owners then have three years to redeem the property. Properties can be redeemed by paying off all delinquent taxes or entering into a confession of judgment. A confession of judgment is like a payment plan for the delinquent taxes. More information about this process can be obtained by calling 320-983-8310.
All property owners who are in the position of their property being forfeited will be notified by certified mail, the property will be served by the Mille Lacs County Sheriff and notice will be published in the county paper to best assure no property will be forfeited without property owner knowledge. If for any reason you are unable to pay past taxes, please contact the Auditor’s Office. The staff of the Auditor’s Office will be able to assist you in finding the best option for you to protect your property from forfeiture.
The Truth - In - Taxation notice (TNT), also called the Proposed Tax Notice, is mailed to property owners during November each year. This notice indicates the anticipated property tax you will pay the following year if your local jurisdictions approve the budget amounts they are considering. Property owners are invited to attend meetings held by their local jurisdictions to express their opinions on local budgets.
Real Estate & Personal Property Tax Statements are mailed in March each year.The statutory deadline is March 31st.Manufactured Home Tax Statement are mailed the first week of July.The statutory deadline is July 15th.
The County will always send out a copy of the Tax Statement to the property owner for your records. A separate listing is sent to each mortgage company providing the necessary information they will need to make your payment.
If you owned and occupied this property on January 2 of this year as your homestead, you may qualify for a property tax refund. In addition, Minnesota homeowners whose property taxes increased by more than 12 percent over last year may be eligible for a special property tax refund. To determine if you are eligible for the Minnesota property tax refund and/or the special property tax refund, read the Form M-1PR Instructions and fill out the Form M-1PR. Your state income tax booklet may contain the Form M-1PR and instructions. If not, you can download forms from the Internet at www.taxes.state.mn.us or request forms by calling the state at 651-296-4444, or by writing to Minnesota Tax Forms Mail Station 1421 St. Paul, Minnesota 55146-1421.
A manufactured home parcel cannot change into a new owner’s name until the certificate of title has been transferred. In order to transfer the certificate of title to a manufactured home or move the home all current and delinquent personal property taxes due at the time of the transfer are paid.