Foster Care Licensing requires each provider to complete a certain number of initial and on-going training hours. Provided are six video trainings that are approved and can be used to complete these training hours. Each video training is listed and has a short description of what is included. In order to receive credit for this training opportunity, each provider must watch the video(s) provided and complete the post-test. When the provider has completed each section, the completed self-test must be returned to your Mille Lacs County licensing social worker in order to receive credit.
Sudden Unexpected Infant Death/Abusive Head Trauma Training
Sudden Unexpected Infant Death Syndrome (SUID) and Abusive Head Trauma (AHT) training is required prior to license. Child foster providers caring for infants or children through 5 years of age must be instructed and receive training on SUID/AHT at least once every 5 years.
- View the Minnesota Department of Human Services SUID/AHT Training.
- Complete the SUID/AHT Post-Test and verification form (PDF) and submit to your licensing social worker.
Children’s Mental Health (CMH)
This video training is presented by Deena McMahon. This video defines mental health and specifically addresses how it impacts children’s development. This training will meet the Children’s Mental Health Training requirement for foster care initial and on-going training.
- Watch the Children’s Mental Health video.
- Complete the CMH Post-Test and Certificate of Completion (PDF) and submit to your licensing social worker.
Normalcy and Reasonable & Prudent Parent Standard Training
The Preventing Sex Trafficking and Strengthening Families Act amended Title IV-E, requiring states to support normalcy for all children in foster care. Children and youth in foster care need to experience the same types of developmentally appropriate social activities that their friends, family, and classmates who are not in foster care experience. This new law encourages foster parents to allow foster children to participate in normal childhood activities by applying the reasonable and prudent parent standard.
- Watch the Normalcy and Reasonable and Prudent Parent Standard Training video.
- Complete the Parent Standard Post-Test and Certificate of Completion (PDF) and submit to your licensing social worker.
Car Seat Training
Prior to transporting children under the age of nine, you must satisfactorily complete the three (3) hour training on the proper use and installation of child restraint systems. This training must be provided by instructors certified and approved by the Department of Public Safety - Office of Traffic Safety. This training must be repeated every five (5) years. Class does not need to be taken in the county where you reside or are getting licensed. The three hour child passenger safety training curriculum is approved by the Minnesota Office of Traffic Safety.
- Visit the Develop MN website to find and register for classes in your area.
- When searching, use keyword C.A.R.S.
- After training is complete, notify your licensing social worker.
- No training certificate is provided to you but proof will be provided to your social worker.
Once your complete your application and have been successfully licensed with Mille Lacs County, you will be required to complete 12 hours of annual training, including 1 hour of Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorder Training and 1 hour of a children’s mental health topic. Courses are offered online and through various organizations. The following is a list of training opportunities, but are not a complete list. All certificates should be turned into your licensing Social Worker for credit.
Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorders - required annually after licensure:
- Watch Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorders (FASD) Training video.
- Complete the FASD Post-Test and Certificate of Completion (PDF).
Keeping Families Together Video:
- Watch Keeping Families Together video.
- Complete the Self-Assessment questionnaire and Certificate of Completion (PDF).
Trauma Sensitive Discipline Video:
- Watch Trauma Sensitive Discipline and Beyond Time-In videos.
- Complete the Self-Assessment Questionnaire and Certificate of Completion (PDF).
Trauma Sensitive Parenting Video: